OpenTTD

Tasklist

FS#5914 - Vehicles sometimes inherit previous orders of old vehicle number

Attached to Project: OpenTTD
Opened by Simon Smith (Simons_Mith) - Saturday, 15 February 2014, 22:16 GMT
Last edited by frosch (frosch) - Sunday, 16 February 2014, 12:57 GMT
Type Bug
Category Core
Status Closed
Assigned To No-one
Operating System Mac OS X
Severity Low
Priority Normal
Reported Version 1.4.0-beta4
Due in Version Undecided
Due Date Undecided
Percent Complete 100%
Votes 0
Private No

Details

Buy vehicle x, give it some orders. Sell it. Buy some other vehicle Y which supports the same cargo, but which may be radically different in terms of speed, capacity etc, and if it happens to inherits the old vehicle number it will inherit the old orders too.

Is this intentional? It's sometimes useful, sometimes a pain, but I am a little bit worried by the fact that the old data is still floating about internally even while no vehicle exists for those orders to be associated with.
This task depends upon

Closed by  frosch (frosch)
Sunday, 16 February 2014, 12:57 GMT
Reason for closing:  Not a bug
Additional comments about closing:  but a feature
Comment by Simon Smith (Simons_Mith) - Saturday, 15 February 2014, 22:19 GMT
I tried this with a 5 passanger Black Cab and then replaced it with a variety of other vehicles. Only when I bought two new vehicles at once did the old orders get cleared.
Comment by fonsinchen (fonsinchen) - Sunday, 16 February 2014, 11:22 GMT
The standard use case for that is manual vehicle replacement; in the old days before we got automatic replacement that was the only way to do it. I believe it's been like that already in the original TTD. Arguably, in this day and age, it doesn't make much sense anymore.
Comment by 3298 (3298) - Sunday, 16 February 2014, 12:51 GMT
It still makes sense in cases where autoreplace doesn't work, which is mainly the transition between incompatible railtypes (rail->monorail, monorail->maglev). There is the Universal Railtype NewGRF, but not everyone is playing with it.
Comment by frosch (frosch) - Sunday, 16 February 2014, 12:57 GMT
The data is cleared when you close the depot window.

Anyway, intentional feature.

Loading...